Steampunk Range of Quirky Jewellery

Steampunk has been around for as long as I can remember. The funny thing is though, I never really paid attention to trends and styles of jewellery until I actually started to make it myself!

My jewellery has always been bright and quirky with buttons, colouring pencils, stamps etc. I really like it that way! After reading an article though in the Gardian about Victorian Steampunk was becoming a strong fashion trend my mind started to think. Then after a trip to London when I saw a normal dressed guy wearing a top hat it was decided!!!

As I work a lot with resin I wanted to keep the familiar shapes and styles so, although Ruby Bijou was going to a “dark side” it still had the cute pretty feel that I feel that I have with my own jewellery.

IMG_1794

This was the first attempt. Completely clear ( apart from the bad photo) it looked very pretty in reality.

I then decided that a stronger background was needed to really show off the cogs and wheels.

IMG_1876

So I went with a black background which in my opinion blew the clear out of the water. Happy with the results there was no stopping me and the full range was completed!

IMG_1885

Steampunk Bangle

IMG_1880

Steampunk Ring

IMG_1881

Steampunk Brooches

IMG_1895

The whole range!

I try to get as much squeezed into the pieces as possible. I love looking at my own pendant as the more I look the more I seem to see! Every year I do panic thinking what will I come up with and will customers like it. I have had a lovely response so far. I have lovely fans on Facebook!

Would love to know what the rest of the world thinks!!

Linda x

http://www.rubybijou.co.uk

One thought on “Steampunk Range of Quirky Jewellery

Leave a Reply

